Reviewing The Development Gained From Construction Training Construction Essay

Introduction

I graduated with a Diploma certification in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from local private college in twelvemonth 1990 and started to derive my working experience in the Mechanical and Electrical edifice building sector since so. My working preparation began with working as a mechanical draughtsperson and mechanical interior decorator. After three ( 3 ) old ages, I switched my professionalism to electrical subject till to-date. In December 2000, I continued my survey through part-time in Electrical Engineering degree class with Open University Malaysia ( METEOR ) . Due to in-sufficient technology pupil, experience lectors and survey stuffs, university has decided to shut down the technology section. All technology pupil were transferred to go on survey at Universiti Teknologi Malaysia ( UTM ) . The transferred period took about a twelvemonth. I completed my degree class in December 2006. In March 2007, I obtained my degree making in Bachelor of Electrical Engineering ( Honours ) . I registered with BEM as a alumnus applied scientist in 09 October 2007. I became graduate member of IEM in 21 January 2008.

SUMMARY OF TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE

January 2007 – April 2007 Passed UTM degree scrutiny in Electrical

[ After calibrated ] Engineering in December 2006 and worked with MEP Engineering Sdn Bhd as an electrical applied scientist

May 2007 – July 2010 Joined ISMAIL DAN RAKAN-RAKAN as a senior electrical applied scientist

TOTAL TYPE OF EXPERIENCE MONTHS

DESIGN/OFFICE 14

SITE /FIELD 15

PLANNING/MANAGEMENT 20

OTHER ENGINEERING WORKS 20

Entire EXPERIENCE 38

( BASED ON PERIOD WRITTEN IN SUBMITTED IEM/PI ( 1 ) Form )

DETAILS OF EXPERIENCE

MAY 2007 – July 2010 ( 38 Calendar months )

Job rubric: Senior Electrical Engineer

Employer: ISMAIL DAN RAKAN-RAKAN

Design/Office – 14 Calendar months

Site/Field – 15 Calendar months

Planning/Management – 20 Calendar months

Other Engineering Works – 20 Calendar months

ISMAIL DAN RAKAN-RAKAN is a Mechanical and Electrical consulting house in assorted development undertakings and edifice services. It has been established since twelvemonth 1984. Previously, this company besides consists of Civil and Structural section. In present, there are 25 ( 25 ) nos. of staff, which listed as below:

Job Title No. of Person

Director ( Mechanical Professional Engineer ) 1

Director ( Electrical Professional Engineer ) 1

Mechanical Engineer 3

Electrical Engineer 2

Mechanical Resident Engineer 2

Electrical Resident Engineer 2

Mechanical Clerk of Work 3

Electrical Clerk of Work 3

Draughtperson 5

Administration Staff 3

I am hired at ISMAIL DAN RAKAN-RAKAN as a senior electrical applied scientist. Nature of undertakings which I involved in is every bit follow:

Multi-storey highrise authorities edifice

Housing undertaking

Shoping complex

4 storey authorities foodcourt

Factory

Up-grading Earthing system for bank

Apartment

UiTM inn edifice

Auditing bing authorities edifice

Duty

My occupation maps at ISMAIL DAN RAKAN-RAKAN could by and large be classified under the undermentioned classs: –

Planning of undertaking.

Design chief electrical installing system.

Project electrical burden appraisal.

Undertaking cost appraisal.

Design computations, such as electrical burden, lux degree, electromotive force bead and etc.

Attend meeting.

To rede client on undertaking electrical services affairs.

Liaison with governments, client, other subject advisers, contractor, provider, maker and etc.

Prepare stamp drawings and paperss.

Evaluate and write stamp studies.

Correspondences.

Undertaking coordination.

Site review for electrical installing plants.

Factory testing, either at local and/or oversea.

To reexamine contractor submitted drawings, stuffs, paperss, sample boards, advancement claim and etc.

To steer, Teach and motivate immature applied scientist and draughtperson.

To reexamine the check/test consequence of the electrical plants as submitted by the electrical contractor.

Ensure the electrical plants carried out by the electrical contractor in conformity with the contract and conformity with the modern-day relevant design codification of patterns and By-Laws.

Planning

In order to hold good and proper planning, I need to to the full and carefully understand the client ‘s demands. Several meetings and treatment among client, edifice designer, civil and structural applied scientist, measure surveyor, interior interior decorator, ICT adviser, landscape designer and extra will be carried-out. Then, design brief will be detailed out for client reappraisal and confirm. This will cut down opportunities of holding major alterations to the proposed development which might make unanticipated job during design and building phase, such as addition cost and hold in completion of work, which may finally take to compromise on the quality of work.

Beside design demands, cost appraisals based on different type of design system will be worked-out and forwarded to client, I will show my design to client for reappraisal and besides pro-con of different design for client apprehension. Based on the input and pro-con comparing, client will be able to do a determination based on the budget allocated.

Design

A good design is non merely merely accent safety, hardiness and cost but it should include design for lastingness and efficiency in usage and easy care. Design should be practical and cost effectual and conformity to criterions and local ‘s governments ‘ demand.

Design electrical installing systems including: –

Electrical conventional design.

Electrical installing layout.

Electrical burden computations.

Electrical installing inside informations.

Lightning protection layout.

Telecommunication conventional design.

Telecommunication layout.

Data system

Public reference ( PA ) layout and conventional.

Satellite maestro aerial telecasting ( SMATV ) layout and conventional.

All electrical designs are based on Malayan Standards ( MS ) , JKR, IEC, BS, IEEE Regulation, Electrical Supply Act, Uniform Building By-Laws, DOE, TNB, Telekom and etc.

Client ‘s demand is besides taken into history.

Beside Telekom criterion, Telecommunication designs are besides based on the demands of the Service Providers.

Preparation OF TENDER DOCUMENT AND REPORTS

I am besides involved in the readying of stamp paperss, drawings and studies. A stamp rating study would be prepared and submitted to the Employer for perusing after the stamp had closed. This stamp rating study would cover the arithmetical cheque on all the points listed measures of measure, conformity of equipment offered, pricing of all major equipment, a comparing between tenderers and eventually a recommendation. When stamp rating is carried-out at the high security closed room, whereby nil is allow to convey along, experience and cognition of stuff proposed and material unit rate given by tenderers must be sufficient. I have experienced it during my stamp rating for Putrajaya Holding undertaking.

Prior to the stamp award, a stamp interview between the adviser, employer and short listed tenderers would be held. The intent of this meeting would be to clear up and to guarantee tenderers have to the full understand to the contract demands, such as conformity of specification. After the stamp interview and verification from tenderers, a auxiliary stamp study that would include a concluding recommendation would be prepared and sent to the employer.

Contract paperss would be compiled after verification from the employer and the issue of missive of credence to the successful tenderer.

PROJECT MANAGEMENT AND SUPERVISION

I am responsible for the disposal of the undertakings which includes the followers: –

Preparation and monitoring of entries to local blessing governments, such as TNB, Telekom, Jabatan Kerja Awam ( Street Lighting ) and etc.

Before official drawings entry to assorted subject governments, treatment with governments will be carried-out in order to understand better their demands, other than the governments ‘ criterion demands.

Supervision of the full electrical installing.

For undertaking site, it will be managed and supervised by the occupant applied scientist or site supervisor and clerk-of-work. But on-off, I will went to site for look intoing.

In the office, immature applied scientist and senior interior decorator will help me in undertaking supervising.

Attending assorted meeting as mentioned below:

Client-consultant meeting

Design and proficient meeting

Site advancement meeting

Meeting with governments

Solving site jobs that may originate.

Certification of contractors ‘ advancement claims.

Agreement of TNB Substation passing over review by TNBD.

Agreement of street illuming passing over review by JKA, Lampu Awam.

Jointing client, adviser and contractor site review.

Testing of the electrical and telephone installing.

All the undertakings that I handled and supervised were overseen by the manager. Periodically I would brief the manager of undertaking advancement and would suggest solutions to the site jobs that arose during the class of the undertaking.

IN-HOUSE TRANING

I besides conduct in-house preparation for my staff. This will supply motive for staff and better their cognition in technology. From the preparation I have given to them, I encounter that for draughtpersons, they are really weak in proficient cognition because all the clip they merely follow direction given by applied scientists, without inquiring inquiry. Where else for immature applied scientists, they are good in theoretical technology cognition. Therefore, I will promote draughtpersons to inquiry and to give applied scientist more technology direction and practical technology cognition. At the same clip, I can review my theoretical technology cognition and larn more Autocad accomplishment from applied scientists and draughtpersons, in instance under certain effects I have to make pulling by myself.

PROBLEMS AND SOLUTIONS

Problem No.1

The client had ailment that few floors distribution board in his rented office block tripped really frequent within a month, and his blaster has reported that power supply electromotive force was excessively high, which was beyond the tolerance evaluation. These jobs had affected their concern operation and do fiscal loses. The edifice is located at Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur.

Solution No.1

An probe had been carried out by uncovering and rectifying the full edifice grounding system and roll uping electromotive force informations from major equipments, such as transformers, chief patchboard, sub-switchboards, distribution boards, generator sets, UPS units, hair-raisers and etc. After probe, I notice that the bing earthing chamber for constructing earthing system has been removed. There was no replacing of the earthing chamber. Further, certain length of Cu tape, which was portion of the grounding system at Basement auto park, besides been stolen. Since there is no Earth continuity, any escape current which exit the allowable tripping current ( ma ) of RCCB will decidedly do DB stumbling. And besides through probe and measuring informations, high electromotive force evaluation was due to high electromotive force from TNB 11 kilovolt incoming supply. I advise the client to prosecute qualify contractor to replace the missing and harm earthing music director, earthing chamber and other faulty earthing constituent. I besides advise client to acquire a competent individual to make tap altering at two ( 2 ) nos transformer in order to cut down the high electromotive force. After all this replacing installing plants and transformer tapping accommodation, there was no more distribution board stumbling instance go on and the client was really satisfied and happy.

Problem No.2

A technician carried out care work on a malfunction fluorescent light adjustment in a meeting room. He had detected that one of the lamp holder was faulty and needed to replace with a new one. While leveling the faulty lamp holder, the office, corridor and the meeting room black out.

Solution No.2

The RCCB had tripped. I turned on the RCCB and the electricity resumed. The technician told that both the MCB and the lighting switch had been turned off anterior to the care work. After my probe, I found that the black colour of impersonal wire was left embroiling without any PVC tapping on the expiration point. This could be the really high possibility of impersonal wire “ touching the shell ” or “ impersonal short to earth ” and the RCCB had captured it by stumbling. I had advised all the technology staffs to be cognizant of tapping the impersonal wire during care plants to avoid RCCB tripping and power break to other sections.

Problem 3

The client had ailment that the electricity supply can non be restored due to faulty RCCB whenever there was a electrical storm with lightning work stoppage within the residential country at Bangsar Height, Bandar Seri Kembangan.

Solution 3

An probe had been carried out by uncovering the internal constituents with the RCCB provider and found that the imitation of RCCB has been installed. The provider explained that all imitation RCCBs uses electronic type it comprises electronic PCB board and a low quality ZCT nucleus, it can be easy damaged by higher rush electromotive force generated by lightning. For electromagnetic type of RCCB, it comprises a high quality ZCT and this ZCT will direct a difference of current ( ma ) in the event of a escape to trip a micro relay to exchange off the RCCB. Finally all imitation RCCBs had been replaced with RCCB comply with IEC 1008.

Decision

During the 38 months of post-graduate working experience, and my entire on the job experience is 20 ( 20 ) old ages, I have been exposed to all facets of technology and have the accomplishments to accomplish professional position by IEM and BEM. I believe that all these accomplishments will assist me farther heighten my competence as a professional.